King Greyskull (Custom)

One bit of pre-amble: I haven’t talked enough to enough people about how much I enjoyed Masters of the Universe: Revelations, but I really enjoyed that show, a genuine mature take (meaning complicated emotions and complex characterizations and themes, not the usual cheap swears and ultraviolence) on a patently goofy ‘80s cartoon. And hey, did you ever wonder who Castle Greyskull was named after?

A barbarian king and champion who’s spending eternity leading (and winning) an eternal epic Monster Hunter chase.

King G just got a Masterverse figure, but I only collect Origins, so: a Clamp Champ body, the cape and harness off a Masters of the WWE Universe Ultimate Warrior (2nd version), and a head off said Masterverse fig, a hard to find Target exclusive.

I went through a few different accessory options with him; a homecast power sword from my friend Chris and the Masterverse shield, the Masterverse figure’s fancy paired blades, and finally, the power sword halves from the first wave of Origins’ He-Man and Skeletor.

I’m extremely proud of how this custom came out: he looks official, probably because he’s pure recycled official Mattel sculpts; if they do an official Origins King G, I can’t imagine it’ll look too much different than this.

Leave a comment